Share this:

Like this:

Two longtime Democratic congressmen announce they will not seek re-election in 2022

McNerney, who has served since 2007, announced he would not run for another term in Congress, pointing to California's newly signed 9th Congress District.

"Today I announce that I will not seek re-election in California's newly created 9th Congressional District," he wrote on Twitter. "I am honored that the citizens of California's 9th Congressional District elected me as their representative in the last five elections, and that those in California's former 11th Congressional District gave me the privilege of representing them for three terms."
In place of Democratic Representative Josh Harder of California announced On Tuesday, he would line up for the square. McNerney is one of many House Democrats who have announced they will not run for re-election once a year.
The California Redistribution Commission last month formally approved the state's new congressional card, which still favors Democrats but could create an opportunity for Republicans in the newly created 9th District, which includes Stockton and San Joaquin counties. Rhode Island has not yet completed its convention card.
In a column for The Providence Journal, Langevin, who has served more than two decades in Congress, said he did not "come easily to this decision, but it is time for me to set a new course that will allow me to stay closer to home and spend more time with my family and friends. "
Langevin, first elected to Congress in 2000, became the first quadriplegic to serve in the U.S. House. In 2010, he became the first person in a wheelchair to preside over the House of Representatives on the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disability Act.
As a 16-year-old, Langevin was left paralyzed after a gun was accidentally dropped and a bullet hit him while working with the Warwick Police Department as part of the Boy Scout Explorer program, according to his congressional biography.

Langevin has also authored and backed cybersecurity legislation. He currently chairs the House Armed Services' Subcommittee on Cyber ​​and co-founded the Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus in 2008. He is also co-chair of the Bipartisan Disabilities Caucus, among others caucus.

McNerney is a member of the Energy and Commerce Committee and the Science, Space and Technology Committee. He was the main sponsor of the Consumer Safety Technology Act, which would require agencies to explore the use of AI to help with consumer safety and study the potential use of blockchain technology.

Langevin and McNerney are at least the 27th and 28th House Democrats, announcing they will not seek re-election as their party fights to retain their slim majority in Congress in the 2022 midterm elections.

Several high-profile Democrats, including reps. Peter DeFazio, Jackie Speier and Bobby Rush have already announced their intentions to leave Congress and retire after this session.

This story has been updated.

CNN's Morgan Rimmer and Melissa DePalo contributed to this report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share this:

Like this:

%d bloggers like this: